Musicians whose style I don’t hate

Nah, just kidding. I actually quite like the way these musical groups look. In fact, they way they dress is a big part of their appeal. I’m a pretty lyrically-minded person, but anyone (myself included) who says style doesn’t matter in music is lying. Sometimes its the only thing. (Cough, cough, boy bands of the ’90s) So here are my Top 5 stylish musical stylists, in no particular order. And I’ve thrown in some favorite videos as well.

Feel free to mock my taste in music. I know it’s bad, but I’m OK with it. And yes, I know many of these are from the early 2000s. I’m OK with that, too. I still listen to ’em. That being said, I’m open if anyone has any recommendations. I really should update my playlists…

 

Patrick Wolf

Nutty at times, but with a delicious center. An unbelievably talented musical genius and one unique individual.

 

The Killers

Yes, Brandon Flowers is the primary reason they’re on this list. Glad to hear they’ll be back with a new album this year.

And I totally would have murdered him for this suit.

 

Panic at the Disco! (because apparently the ‘!’ is back)

OK, hear me out. Yes, I recognize that initially PATD was targeted directly at 14-year-old girls and their gay BFFs. But the group’s music has certainly evolved over the years, and their style with it. The debut album, “A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out,” was released at the height of tween emo-dom, and the band reflected it (as mincing fops in too much eyeliner). “Pretty, Odd” (my personal favorite and the group’s categorical commercial failure) saw them mature into pseudo-Edwardian dandies—all velvet, tweed and newsboy caps. Now that they’ve split and Brendon Urie and Spencer Smith are the only two left standing, their aesthetic has morphed into some darker, Victorian Steampunk territory. I’m not complaining, and I’ll definitely stick around for the ride.

These are in chronological order, fyi.

 

 

 

OK Go

I think people were so distracted by the videos that they neglected to notice these guys sport some nice duds.

 

Franz Ferdinand

One of my earliest and most enduring loves.

And the best for last

 

Honorable Mentions go to…

Rufus Wainwright, Mika, The Klaxons, and Beck

 

Leave a Reply

